"The Temptress" painting by Michael Hafftka, U.S.A. Poem by Aeronwy Thomas, U.K.

(copyright Michael Hafftka)
(copyright Michael Hafftka)

Link: http://www.hafftka.com/

 

 

 

THE   ACTRESS

 

Please just put your arms around me

Hold me night and day

You are ruled by jealousy

I’ve been faithful whatever they say.

 

Hold me close night and day

Without you I’m just dross

I’ve been faithful whatever they say

If you go I’d be lost.

 

Without you I’m just dross

I haven’t any other lovers

Of you go I’d be lost.

All those men are like brothers.

 

I haven’t any other lovers

Don’t wave that knife in the air

All those men are like brothers

Why that manic stare?

 

Don’t wave that knife in the air

You are ruled by jealousy

Why that manic stare?

Please just put your arms around me.

 

AERONWY  THOMAS

 

 

Scrivi commento

Commenti: 0